Hilson Gems | Diamond Guide
Hilson Gems Jewellery, Diamonds, Argyle Centre Glasgow, diamond workshop
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15297,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-10.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive
We pride ourselves on our specialised knowledge of diamonds and believe in helping you understand all aspects of diamond grading and certification before buying a piece of jewellery.

Diamonds are graded, valued and priced according to the ‘4Cs’:
Cut , Colour, Clarity and Carat.


Here at Hilson Jewellers the cut of our diamonds are graded as excellent, very good or good.


The ‘cut‘ refers to how well or skilfully a diamond is cut in order for it to reflect light properly to give optimum fire and brilliance.


Even a diamond of high colour and clarity, if poorly cut, will lose sparkle and value.


The cut grading of a diamond ranges from ‘excellent’ (highest) to ‘poor’ (lowest).


The word ‘cut‘ can also be used in reference to the shape of the stone.


Our standard colour grade at Hilson is between D and H i.e. colourless to near colourless.


All natural diamonds vary in colour, from as truly white and colourless as a drop of water, to off-white or a shade of yellow.


The colour scale ranges from D-Z with D,E and F termed ‘colourless’, G-J ‘near colourless’ and a stronger presence of colour or hint of yellow further down the scale.


The more ‘free from colour’ a diamond is, the more rare and valuable.


Our diamonds at Hilson range from FL – IF to no lower than VS2.


Due to their formation deep within the earth, all natural diamonds have their own unique characteristics.


These are visible as imperfections or ‘inclusions’ within a stone or surface ‘blemishes’.


A diamond’s clarity i.e how ‘clean’ it is of imperfections determines its value, with stones free of inclusions and blemishes deemed most valuable.


The clarity grade ranges from FL-IF (flawless-internally flawless) i.e no visible imperfections found by a skilled diamond grader using a 10x loupe (lens), down to I3 i.e with many blemishes and inclusions visible to the naked eye.


The carat is the weight or size of a diamond, with one carat equal to 0.2 grams.


The weight of a diamond is often spoken about in terms of points:

One full carat (1.00ct) = 100 points
Half a carat (0.50ct) = 50 points
Quarter carat (0.25ct) = 25 points and so on…


The bigger the carat weight of a diamond, the more rare and valuable it is.


Often referred to as the ‘5th C’, a diamond certificate is a report issued by an independent laboratory after a diamond has been analysed and graded by a team of gemologists.


As well as details on cut, colour, clarity and carat of the stone, a lab report will also state in-depth details such as measurements, fluorescence and any laser inscriptions on the diamond.


We always advise that when looking to purchase a diamond, make sure it is accompanied by an independent laboratory certificate as it validates any details given on quality.


Here at Hilson, all our diamonds are certified by GIA, HRD, IGI and Anchorcert.